Egg Fried… Pasta?

It’s reading week for me, and I’ve maybe written 100 words to my dissertation (despite writing a good 1000 more than that on this blog this week…) but I’ve got my plans written, 6,384 articles written, and I’m ready to go.

I love reading week. Normally I’d use it to escape but alas, I have things to do and a student loan that just hasn’t materialised so for once, I’m under house arrest, and it’s been exactly what I’ve needed.

My flatmate is away home for the week (then off to Amsterdam with her boyfriend, lucky thing) so I’ve got the flat to myself, to slob around in an oversized shirt and underwear, listen to as much music as loud as I want and long baths. Ahhh. Just what you want after a month living in the studio.

To celebrate, I made my favourite “10 minute, I’m a skint student and I need scran” lunch: Egg Fried Pasta. It’s strange that pasta is my comfort food, because I don’t really get too excited about Italian food* and I wouldn’t ever choose to go to an Italian restaurant. Nevertheless, I love this strange fusion.

This was first made for me by a really good German friend, and since then, German friends see it as pretty normal, when everyone else just looks suspicious, when I mention it. I wonder if the fact that “nudeln” means pasta as well as noodles, or just someone was a genius.

It’s a pretty self explanatory dish to make.

Boil some pasta (fusili is the best. Don’t ask me why, but the shape makes so much difference!).

Drain the pasta, heat some olive oil in a frying pan, and add the pasta.

Break an egg or two into the pan and quickly start to move the pasta/egg about (you can whisk the egg first if you want to make sure it’s a bit more scrambled, but if you move it quick enough, you’re good.)

Season with salt and lots of pepper.

Eat.

If you want to spice it up, add some pesto or tomato purée, but I like it how it is.

Now. Dissertation, let’s be having ye!

*Saying that, if someone wants to take me to Italy, or an Italian wants to cook me dinner and try convince me, y’know, I’d be cool with that…

Leave a comment